How to Enable or Disable Automapping of Shared Mailbox in Office 365

Configure automapping for shared mailbox with Easy365Manager

Automapping controls whether a mailbox is automatically mapped in the user’s Outlook session or not.

Automapping is configured individually for each user that has full access permissions to a mailbox.

By default, users are configured with automapping of the shared mailbox when granted full access permissions.

Unfortunately, in Office 365, there is no way to see if users are configured with automapping or not. The configuration is stored in the msExchDelegateListLink attribute in Azure AD, which is not visible to admins.

How to Disable Automapping of Shared Mailbox

If a user has full access to a shared mailbox and you want to stop the automapping of the mailbox in the user’s Outlook client, you must first remove the access and then restore the access without automapping.

With Easy365Manager, this can be done using the following steps in AD Users & Computers:

Open the user properties of the shared mailbox, select the Mailbox tab, and click Mailbox Delegation

Configure automapping of shared mailboxes using Easy365Manager

To disable automapping for a user, you must first remove the full access permission:

Configure automapping for shared mailbox with Easy365Manager

Make sure to click OK twice so that the change is committed to the mailbox.

Then open up user properties and Mailbox Delegation settings once again, add the user, and de-select Enable automapping for new delegate(s).

This will ensure the full access permissions are applied with automapping disabled:

Configure automapping for shared mailbox with Easy365Manager

After clicking OK twice, the user is now set to full access permissions with automapping disabled.

How to Disable Automapping With PowerShell

If you’re not running Easy365Manager, then you’re stuck with PowerShell, as Microsoft does not provide any GUI for these settings.

First, ensure that you have the ExchangeOnlineManagement module installed on your system.

With that in place, you can remove the full access permissions using the following command:

Remove-MailboxPermission -Identity customer.feedback@azure.skrubbeltrang.com -User hans.c.orsted@azure.skrubbeltrang.com -AccessRights FullAccess

Then add back the full access permissions using the switch to disable automapping:

Add-MailboxPermission -Identity customer.feedback@azure.skrubbeltrang.com -User hans.c.orsted@azure.skrubbeltrang.com -AccessRights FullAccess -AutoMapping:$false

How to Enable Automapping of a Shared Mailbox

Switching automapping from disabled to enabled is done in a similar way:

  • Remove the full access permission that was assigned with automapping disabled
  • Add the user back with full access, and automapping enabled

With Easy365Manager this can be done via user properties in AD Users & Computers.

Without Easy365Manager you need to use PowerShell to configure this.

Summary

Easy365Manager consolidates all your AD management and Office 365 administration in the well-known GUI of AD Users & Computers.

Easy365Manager supports many configurations that are only available via PowerShell, thereby saving you and your colleagues tons of time.

With Easy365Manager, you can even get rid of your on-premises Exchange Server, which will save you money and effectively protect you from the many exploits targeting Exchange on-premises.

Download your free 30-day trial now and have Easy365Manager up and running in two minutes!

Contact us for free support or a quick demo.

Did you like this post? Maybe your friends will too!