Exchange Migration Batch Percentage Progress

Exchange Mailbox Migration

Microsoft recently released a preview version of Cross Tenant mailbox migration.

The process of performing a cross tenant migration is not for the faint of heart as it involves a lot of steps. Many of them can go wrong which complicates troubleshooting.

However, making sure that you honor all pre-requisites will provide you with a great alternative to third party tools. Following the new (preview) procedure gives you full control of every step of the migration.

This article solves a simple challenge that we faced at the end stage of our Exchange mailbox migration procedure:

How to Get a Good Overview of Mailbox Migration Progress

One way to get detailed information on mailbox synchronization progress is to combine the Get-MigrationUser command with the Get-MigrationUserStatistics command.

The Get-MigrationUser gets all users (mailboxes) that are included in a migration batch. This can then be piped to the Get-MigrationUserStatistics command which holds a lot of details about the progress of individual mailboxes.

To generate the percentage progress use the SyncedItemCount and TotalItemsInSourceMailboxCount attributes of the output from Get-MigrationUserStatistics.

This final script looks like this:

Get-MigrationUser -BatchId "E365M Batch" | Get-MigrationUserStatistics | ft Identity,@{Label="TotalItems";Expression={$_.TotalItemsInSourceMailboxCount}},@{Label="SyncedItems";Expression={$_.SyncedItemCount}},@{Label="Completion";Expression={ $_.SyncedItemCount / $_.TotalItemsInSourceMailboxCount}; FormatString="P"}

The output of the script looks similar to the following:

Identity TotalItems SyncedItems Completion -------- ---------- ----------- ---------- Tona.Pylant@easy365manager.com 198488 5674 2.86% Newton.Witty@easy365manager.com 56155 11296 20.12% Berenice.Davy@easy365manager.com 202801 69930 34.48% Hildegard.Haff@easy365manager.com 195394 100226 51.29% Elvis.Wilburn@easy365manager.com 128332 50257 39.16% Jeni.Eklund@easy365manager.com 60757 20571 33.86% Jordon.Euler@easy365manager.com 760196 33211 4.37% Carlota.Werley@easy365manager.com 236385 26077 11.03% Lessie.Almeda@easy365manager.com 247650 63596 25.68% Jefferson.Maltese@easy365manager.com 2080 918 44.13% ...

Flash That Data!

All in all a simple one-liner that can help you set expectations about the completion of your migration batch.

By importing the data to Excel you’re a only a few chart inserts away from being that stand-out guy who knows how to communicate migration progress on the next project meeting:

MailboxCompletion
Did you like this post? Maybe your friends will too!